The Loyalist Collection

Home Page

Call Number: MIC-Loyalist FC LSC .Q4M4M4C6
Name: McGill University. McLennan Library. Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.
Title: Collection : 1783-1826.
Description: 1 microfilm reel of textual records ; 35 mm.
The Collection includes the following sources:

Joseph Bouchette (1774-1841) Collection, schedule of the lands granted and a general statement of lands remaining ungranted in the Township of Quebec, also references to Crown and Clergy Reserves, 1809; a warrant for salary payment of 50 pounds for six months work to Reverend Edmund Burke (1753-1820), missionary to the Indians, Amherstburg, Upper Canada, 1797; Sir Guy Carleton, Lord Dorchester, official papers, 1783-1793; William Osgoode to the Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec, memorandum concerning Crown Lands, 1798; Quebec, Executive Council Minutes (Extract), 1798, 1819; Levi Laurence, Burford Township, London District, Upper Canada, land grant, 1805; Lt-Colonel Joseph Robinson, residing in St. Johnís Island (PEI), memoir of his military services as commander of the South Carolina Royalists, 1797; Herman Witsius Ryland (1760-1838), public official of Lower Canada, letters to Sir James Craig, the Earl of Liverpool, and others, concerning the condition of Lower Canada, 1810-1815; Attorney-General, Jonathan Sewell (1766-1839), report to Lieutenant-Governor Robert Prescott (1726-1815), relative to some seditious proceedings at Montreal, 1796; Chief Justice Jonathan Sewell of Quebec, official papers, 1826; Joel Stone (1749-1833), founder of Gananoque, Ontario, family papers, militia returns, and business documents, 1787-1815; Gale, Samuel. .

Originals: The original records are held by McGill University, McLennan Library, Montreal, Quebec.
There is a numbered table of contents at the beginning of the reel, including a brief description of each record.

The table of contents is available in print.

Web Finding Aid Available
The sources which make up the Collection are microfilmed in an order which is different from the numbered order as given in the table of contents. The order of filming is as follows: Numbers 10,11,7,9,5,4,3,2,1,6,8.

The Loyalist Collection is located within the Microforms Department at the Harriet Irving Library.

Last update: 2012/12
This document: