UNB Libraries' Guide to Getting Started

Welcome

Welcome to the Library!

This guide will help you to get started using your library. Each tab (Reference Sources, Find Books, Find Articles,  and Citing Your Sources) offers a sample of the kinds of resources that are available the UNB Libraries. To find out more, either stop by your Library, contact your liaison librarian, or explore on your own using our Research Help page.

Find Articles

These databases help you to locate academic journal articles and other publications on your topic. Some databases are discipline-specific (CINAHL is a health sciences database), and others are interdisciplinary (Academic Search Premier and Scopus cover many disciplines). Search results will have links to open available articles in full text through the Library's subscriptions.

Key Resources

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary resource that "provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study."

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Scopus
    Scopus, a new multidisciplinary online resource, will be invaluable to students and faculty in various fields of study within the sciences, health sciences and the social sciences. Scopus offers full-text linking, abstracting-and-indexing information and provides access to over 25 million abstracts dating back to 1966.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 500 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

    Unlimited simultaneous users

  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
    "Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more ... Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955."--Database information page.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts "covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behaviorial sciences."

    Unlimited simultaneous users.


Reference Sources

Each library has a collection of Reference sources, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks of research, and other tools that will help you to get valuable background information on your subject, define terminology, identify key scholars and research topics. You might use Reference sources if you're:

  • Not understanding your course readings
  • Trying to focus on a research question or a thesis statement
  • Needing to know more about a person, country, event
  • Looking for general statistical data
  • Looking for a list of sources on a particular topic
  • ...or for many other reasons

Some Reference sources are in print, and can be used in the Library. Others are online through the Library's web site. In either format, they will provide you with reliable information throughout your studies.

Key Resources

  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online)
    "This unique and powerful resource offers unprecedented access to the definitive record of the meaning, history and evolution of more than 600,000 words over the last 1,500 years." A complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.

    5 simultaneous users.

  • Canadian Encyclopedia, The
    Free online encyclopedia, containing the full text of the print Canadian Encyclopedia, "the most comprehensive source of information on all things Canadian." Includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Ed.)
    see also [HIL-REF H41 .I58 2001 vols. 1-26]
    Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

    UNB has online access to the 2001 edition as well as owning print volumes of the earlier edition.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Blackwell Reference Online
    WARNING: This resource loads slowly and may need a page reload. Blackwell Reference Online "is a vast new online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences. With more than 350 reference volumes to be published in Blackwell Reference Online by the end of 2008, it is the largest academic reference collection available online and includes the critically-acclaimed Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax, and a whole host of other valuable reference materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and concise companions."

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Books

The library's default catalogue, UNB WorldCat, provides a quick and easy way to search for print and electronic materials at UNB Libraries. Search results will include books, e-books, DVDs, journals, newspapers, and magazines, as well as content from selected article databases.

UNB Libraries also subscribes to several collections of ebooks. These fulltext, searchable databases include books, maps and other authoritative documents in all academic disciplines.

Key Resources

  • ebrary Collections
    UNB subscribes to 2 ebrary collections of eBooks through this one access point: Academic Complete and the Canadian Publishers Collection, both a mix of subscribed and purchased titles, along with faculty selected purchased titles. These are fulltext, searchable databases of books, maps and other authoritative documents in all academic disciplines. Many books now allow complete downloading.

    Varying access permissions.

  • MyiLibrary
    When browsing an individual MyiLibrary ebook please use the table of contents to the left of the text or the search function to navigate through the book. Rapid clicking through numerous pages of an ebook will block access to the ebook. MyiLibrary includes titles on a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities, science, technology, and medicine. All ebooks are viewed using the MyiLibrary platform. Some ebooks published by Taylor & Francis do not allow full-text searching.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • Springer eBook Collection
    Note: UNB only has online access to material marked with a green, square box to the left of the record.
    The Springer eBook Collection publishes eBooks, eReference Works and eBook Series titles on a wide variety of subjects, including science, technology, medicine and the humanities.

    Unlimited simultaneous users.

  • EBSCO eBooks
    For information on viewing and downloading EBSCO eBooks see the EBSCO support site. UNB Libraries subscribes to the EBSCO Academic Collection (over 90,000 titles) along with a collection of approximately 150 nursing and engineering titles. Several thousand free eBooks are included as well.

    Varying access permissions.


 

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

Ask A Librarian

Joanne Smyth
Head, Reference Services, HIL
jsmyth@unb.ca@unb.ca | 506-453-3516
My office is in HIL, Room 316B
Subject Specialties: History; Political Science; Religious Studies; Catholic Theology; Human Rights, GRID

Ask Us

  • Photo: Joanne Smyth
  • Joanne Smyth  (profile)
  • Head, Reference Services, HIL
  • jsmyth@unb.ca
  • 506-453-3516
  • My office is in HIL, Room 316B
  • Subject Specialties:
    History; Political Science; Religious Studies; Catholic Theology; Human Rights, GRID
  • UNB Libraries