UNB Libraries' Guide to Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering

Note: In order to optimize functionality, most links will open in a new browser window.

Ask a Librarian

~ To properly access the contents of this page and the linked resources, please enable JavaScript. ~

Patents and Standards

Patent Databases

Canadian Patents Database (CIPO)

CIPO's Canadian Patent Database let you access 93 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,140,000 patent documents.

U.S. Patent Databases (USPTO)

U.S. patents, 1790 to present and published applications, 2001 to present. Patents prior to 1976 can be retrieved by number, date and classification. TIFF viewer required to view/print patent documents.

Espacenet

Espacenet offers free access to more than 80 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.

PatentScope (WIPO)

PATENTSCOPE provides access to over 30 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications (PCT). Detailed coverage information can be found here

Patent Lens

Full-text of over ten million patent documents from US, Europe, Australia and WIPO, their status and counterparts up to 70 countries

SciFinder

SciFinder is a key database for chemistry, chemical and biochemical engineering, environmental sciences, materials science, and geochemistry. Its coverage includes journal articles, conference papers and patents from many patent issuing organizations. You can search by research topic, chemical substance, structure and substructure

Scopus

Over 24.4 million Patent records from the following five patent offices are available via Scopus: World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), European Patent Office, US Patent Office, Japanese Patent Office and UK Intellectual Property Office

Patents: Key Resources

 

Standards: Key Resources

ASTM Standards

Engineering library purchase ASTM Standard complete set every 5 years and currently holds the 2010 version.

CSA Standards

Engineering Library owns a number of CSA standards that are listed individually in our library catalogue and we purchase them base on our request from faculty, students and staff.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Provides access to current, revised and superseded standards in the field of electrical and computer engineering.

Find Articles

Find Articles Intro

Key Resources

  • Scopus info
  • Web of Science info
  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library info
  • Dissertations & Theses (PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations) info
  • Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Web) info
  • Inspec (Engineering Village) info
  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library info

Additional Resources

  • GeoRef info
  • Quicklaw Plus info
  • Canadian Research Index (CRI) info
  • EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service : UK Theses) info
  • Academic Search Premier info
  • ASCE Library eJournals (American Society of Civil Engineers) info
  • Science Direct info
  • SpringerLink info
  • Wiley Online Library info
  • Annual Reviews info
  • CanLII info

 

Reference Sources

Reference Intro Text

Key Resources

Additional Resources

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, use the online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. It contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Hans W. Klohn Commons in Saint John. Course reserves contains a listing of course-specific materials available for short-term use.

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try UNB WorldCat (change the default library to "Libraries worldwide") or select from our list of other library catalogues. See the Document Delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Electronic Collections

Key Resources

  • Springer eBook Collection info
  • CRCnetBASE (Includes ENGnetBASE) info
  • AccessEngineering info
  • ebrary Collections info
  • MyiLibrary info
  • ASCE Library eBooks (American Society of Civil Engineers) info

To browse the shelves for books in Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering, try the following ranges:

G 3160-9980 Maps
GA Cartography
GC Oceanography
HD 101-1395.5 Land use. Land tenure
QB Astronomy
QB 275-343 Geodesy
TA 501-625 Surveying Engineering

Find Internet Sites

Portals and Search Engines
Intute
(http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/)
 
TechXtra
(http://www.techxtra.ac.uk/)
 
Google Scholar
(https://login.proxy.hil.unb.ca/login?url=http://scholar.google.com)
 
Scirus
(http://www.scirus.com)
 
Resources of Scholarly Societies - Astronomy
(http://www.scholarly- societies.org/astronomy_soc.html)
 
Product and Supplier Directories
Thomas Register Online
(http://www.thomasglobal.com/)
 
Process Register
(http://www.processregister.com/)

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

Style Manual for the Department of Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering

(http://gge.unb.ca/Pubs/LN54.pdf)

Citing Works in Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering: A Guide

(http://www.lib.unb.ca/instruction/scroos/geocitations.pdf)

APA Citation Style: Some examples

(http://lib.unb.ca/instruction/scroos/APACitationStyle.pdf)

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association

(ENGRESERVE BF76.7 .P83 2010b)

Technically-Write!

(ENG-STACKS T11 .B55 2004)

Research and Documentation Online

(http://www.dianahacker.com/resdoc/)

Plagiarism: a How-NOT-To Guide

(http://www.lib.unb.ca/research/Plagiarism.html)

 

Ask A Librarian

Lisa Auld
lisaauld@unb.ca@unb.ca


Saran Croos
Librarian
saran.croos@unb.ca@unb.ca | 506-458-7959
Subject Specialties: Computer Science and Engineering

  • Last modified:  Oct 16, 2014 15:28:48 | Edit Guide