UNB Libraries' Guide to Classics

Note: In order to optimize functionality, most links will open in a new browser window.

Ask a Librarian

  • Photo: Leanne Wells
  • Leanne Wells  (profile)
  • Information Services Librarian
  • lwells@unb.ca
  • 506-447-3075
  • Library Hours
  • Welcome! This guide contains a selection of library resources to assist your research. Contact our Research Help Desk at 453-3546 for immediate help. For specialized research, feel free to set up an appointment with me.
  • Subject Specialties:
    Business, Classics, Archaeology, Anthropology, Fine Arts, Native Studies
  • UNB Libraries

~ To properly access the contents of this page and the linked resources, please enable JavaScript. ~

Primary Sources

What is a Primary Source?

A primary source is an original record that provides a first-hand account or evidence of an historical event.

Primary sources are often the most important original information a researcher can obtain to interpret the event under study.  As such, even a record created following the event may serve as a primary source as it offers the only evidence available to the researcher.  An ancient author could have been a participant, an observer, or possibly reflect their own personal opinion about the historical event being studied. 

Examples of primary sources are speeches, letters, memoirs, autobiographies, oral histories, works of art or ancient artifacts.

Loeb Classical Library

A series of translated works written by ancient Greek and Roman authors known as the Loeb Classical Library are available in our libraries.  Each Loeb volume offers either the Greek or Latin text plus an English translation on the facing page of each work.

A comprehensive collection of Loeb Classical Library volumes are available in the Harriet Irving Library in the Beaverbrook Room (4th Floor) as follows: 

  • Greek Authors (Green Hardcovers) 880.8 HIL-BBKRM (4th floor)
  • Latin Authors (Red Hardcovers) 870.8 HIL-BBKRM (4th floor)

Additional Loeb volumes may be housed in the regular library collection using the following Call Number ranges:

  • Greek Authors PA 3611-3612
  • Latin Authors PA 6156

Searching the Quest Catalogue for Primary Sources

Our libraries also contain specialized anthologies of primary sources.  Here are a couple of examples:

  • Lefkowitz, Mary R. Women's Life in Greece and Rome : A Source Book in Translation Johns Hopkins University Press. 2005
  • Shelton, Jo-Ann. As the Romans Did : A Source Book in Roman Social History New York:Oxford University Press, 1998

To find books/anthologies that contain references to primary sources, try using a keyword search of the Quest Catalogue using the following as an example:

  • rome source$   (should find sources, sourcebook, primary sources)

It is also important to remember that books/anthologies offer excerpts from original primary sources.  It can be worthwhile for researchers to obtain and read the primary source in its entirety in order to develop your own interpretation of the event under study.  

Online Primary Sources

UNB Libraries subscribes to an excellent searchable digital library of ancient Greek texts:

A wealth of information is also freely available on the internet but careful evaluation is a crucial part of conducting research using internet sites.  

The following free sites may be useful as they contain translations of some Greek and Roman authors:

Key Databases & Journals

When searching for journal articles, an article/research database is usually the best place to begin.  Below are some recommended article databases for research in Classics.

The key database used to research all aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity (prehistory to AD 800) is an international index - L'Annee Philologique

Need help? Try Tips and Tricks for Using L'Année philologique.

Key Resources

  • Année philologique info
  • JSTOR info
  • Academic Search Premier info
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) info
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography info

Additional Resources

  • Project Muse info
  • Philosopher's Index info
  • Art Index info
  • Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text) info
  • Dissertations & Theses (PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations) info
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) info
  • Google Scholar info

Academic Journals

UNB Libraries subscribes to a wide variety of academic journals, both in print and online. Some examples include:

Document Delivery

If you can't locate the item you're looking for at UNB, either in print or online, you can still submit a document delivery request.

Reference Tools

 When researching a new topic, it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information.

The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Classics. To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Oxford Classical Dictionary, The [HIL-REF DE5 .O9 2003] info
  • Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity [HIL-REF DE5 .N3513 2002 vols. 1-13] info
  • Cambridge Histories Online info
  • Cambridge Ancient History [HIL-REF HIL-REF D57 .C252 vols. 1-14] info
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome [HIL-REF DE5 .O95 2010 v.1-7] info
  • Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition [HIL-REF DF77 .E54 2000 vols. 1-2] info
  • Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome [HIL-REF DG75 .A35 2004] info
  • Oxford handbook of social relations in the Roman world [HIL-REF HN10 .R7 O94 2011 ]
  • Who's who in the Roman world info
  • Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC) [HIL-REF N7760 .L49 vols. 1-8] info
  • Who's who in classical mythology info
  • Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion, The [HIL-REF BL723 .O936 2003] info

Additional Resources

  • Encyclopedia of Religion, The [HIL-REF BL31 .E46 1987 vols. 1-16] info
  • Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (ThesCRA) [HIL-REF BL727 .T48 2004] info
  • Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World [HIL-REF G1033 .B3 2000] info
  • Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Greek and Roman Women: Notable Women from Sappho to Helena [HIL-REF HQ1136 .L54 2000] info
  • Blackwell Reference Online info
  • Who's who in the classical world info
  • Concise Oxford companion to classical literature, The info
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World info
  • Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The info
  • ARTstor info
  • Ancient Greece (vol. 1: A-D)
  • Ancient Greece (vol. 2: D-P)
  • Ancient Greece (vol. 3: P-Z)
  • Readings in Late Antiquity: A Sourcebook [HIL-REF DG78 .M22 2010]
  • Late antiquity a guide to the postclassical world info
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) info
  • Greek-English Lexicon, A [HIL-REF PA445 .E5 L6 1948 vols. 1-2]
  • Oxford Latin Dictionary [HIL-REF PA2365 .E5 O9 vols. 1-8]
  • Pocket Oxford Latin dictionary (Latin-English), The info
  • Pocket Oxford Latin dictionary (English-Latin), The info
  • Guide to the ancient world a dictionary of classical place names, A info
  • Meet the philosophers of ancient Greece everything you always wanted to know about ancient Greek philosophy but didn't know who to ask info
  • Handbook for Classical Research [HIL-REF DE71 .S27 2011 ]
  • Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines [HIL-REF PA99 .W44 2003] info

Find Books

We now provide access to two complimentary catalogues for searching UNB Libraries collections.

UNB WorldCat is useful when you don't have a particular title in mind and are instead searching by topic or keyword(s) to see what is available.  Note that UNB WorldCat also includes links to selected article records by default.  After an initial search you can limit results to books, if desired.

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, Quest. Quest contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Hans W. Klohn Commons in Saint John. Course reserves are also available via Quest's Reserve Desk.

Bibliographies list publications that have been written about a particular subject, including books, journals etc. Annotated bibliographies provide concise summaries of what has been published in a given area.

  • Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature (HIL-REF PA91 .J46 2006)
  • Ancient Greece & Rome: A Bibliographical Guide (HIL-REF DE59 .H67 1995)

Additional bibliographies can be found through Quest, the library catalogue.


To browse the shelves for books in Classics, try the following ranges:

D51-90 Ancient History
CC Archaeology - General
PA Classical Languages & Literature
DF Greece, History
DE Greco - Roman World
N Fine Arts
DG Italy, History
B108-708 Philosophy, Ancient
BL Religion - Mythology

 

Document Delivery Service

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat or select from our list of other library catalogues. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Free Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet.  Below are a few recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted.

The standard citation style for Classics is the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another.

Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

 
  • Last modified:  Apr 07, 2012 21:03:54 | Edit Guide