UNB Libraries' Guide to History, Medieval

Note: In order to optimize functionality, most links will open in a new browser window.

Ask a Librarian

  • Photo: Joanne Smyth
  • Joanne Smyth  (profile)
  • Reference Librarian
  • jsmyth@unb.ca
  • 506-453-3516
  • My office is in HIL, Room 316B
  • Subject Specialties:
    History; Political Science; Religious Studies; Catholic Theology; Renaissance College; Human Rights, GRID
  • UNB Libraries

~ To properly access the contents of this page and the linked resources, please enable JavaScript. ~

Find Primary Sources

Primary sources can be found in UNB WorldCat, our catalogue, by combining a search for your topic with a search for the subject, "sources". For instance, if you are looking for primary material about feudalism, you would use the Advanced Search screen to search for the word or phrase "feudalism" and the subject "sources".

The following online collections include primary source material:

Medieval Travel Writing (Adam Matthew Digital)

Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (PROME)

HeinOnlineSee especially the collections "English Reports: Full Reprints, 1220 - 1867", and "World Constitutions Illustrated"

Naxos Music Library: Try a keyword search for "medieval"

Classical Scores Library: Browse by time period to find over 1300 medieval scores.

ARTstor: Go to the Advanced Search screen, and combine any search terms with a date limit, 400-1450 C.E.

Past Masters: Includes "significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics."

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended print indexes and databases for research in Medieval Studies. For other databases, check the Article and Research Databases tab on the library website.

How To Guides

How to Use UNB WorldCat to Find Journal Articles

How to find journal articles in JSTOR

Key Resources

  • Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM) info
  • International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB) info
  • Iter - Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance info

Additional Resources

  • Année philologique info
  • Art Index info
  • ARTFL Project info
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) info
  • ARTstor info
  • ATLA Religion Database info
  • Dissertations & Theses (PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations) info
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) info
  • JSTOR Archival Collection info
  • Literature Online info
  • Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) info
  • Periodicals Archive Online (PAO - ProQuest) info
  • Philosopher's Index info
  • Women's Studies International info

Listed below are some of the electronic journals related to medieval history available through UNB Libraries. Please note that this is not a complete list; use the e-Journals search form to find other titles.

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Medieval Studies. To find additional reference materials, check UNB WorldCat (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. For a quick search of our reference collection, use the Reference Universe search box, here:

Key Resources

  • Dictionary of the Middle Ages [HIL-REF D114 .D5 1982 vols. 1-13] info
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online info
  • Blackwell Reference Online info
  • Encyclopedia of the Medieval World [HIL-REF D114 .E55 2005 vols. 1-2] info
  • Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages [HIL-REF D114 .E5313 2000 vols. 1-2] info
  • Cambridge Medieval History, The [HIL-REF D117 .C32 1964 vols. 1-8]
  • Atlas of the Medieval World [HIL-REF D117 .M35 2004] info
  • Cambridge Histories Online info
  • Credo Reference (formerly Xreferplus) info

Additional Resources

  • Chronology of the Medieval World, 800 to 1491 [HIL-REF D118 .S855 1973]
  • Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases, A [HIL-REF DA129 .C67 2004] info
  • Medieval England: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF DA129 .M43 1998] info
  • Medieval France: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF DC33.2 .M44 1995] info
  • Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The [HIL-REF DF521 .O93 1991 vols. 1-3]
  • Oxford Reference info
  • Atlas of Human Migration [HIL-REF GN370 .A85 2007] info
  • Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs [HIL-REF GR35 .M43 2000 vols. 1-2] info
  • Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World: A Biographical Dictionary [HIL-REF HQ1143 .E93 2000] info
  • Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF HQ1147 .E85 W66 2006] info
  • Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature [HIL-REF PN669 .R88 2005] info
  • Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia [HIL-REF Q124.97 .M43 2005] info
  • Concordance of English Recipes: Thirteenth through Fifteenth Centuries [HIL-REF TX717 .H543 2006]
  • Cambridge illustrated history of the Middle Ages, The [HIL-STACKS CB351 .M7813 1986 v. 1 & 2] info
  • Classical Scores Library (Music Online) info
  • HeinOnline info
  • International Directory of Medievalists (IDM) info
  • Literature Online info
  • Medieval Travel Writing (Adam Matthew Digital) info
  • [CANCELED] Naxos Music Library info
  • Old English Corpus (Dictionary of Old English Corpus) info
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB) info
  • Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (PROME), The info
  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection info
  • Reference Universe info

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use the library's online catalogue, UNB WorldCat. UNB WorldCat contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the HW Klohn Learning Commons in Saint John. It can be used to look for material beyond UNB Libraries' holdings, and includes *some* journal article citations as well.

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try UNB World Cat, and change the default "UNB Libraries" to "Libraries Worldwide." Once you have identified a title that is not locally held, select the "Request Item through Document Delivery" link.


To browse the shelves for books in Medieval Studies, try the following ranges:

CB History of Civilization
B 720-765 Philosophy, Medieval
D History (General) and History of Europe
GR Folklore
PR 251-369 English Literature - Medieval. Middle English (1066-1500)

A complete listing of Library of Congress subject headings in world history is available here.

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

 

Ask A Librarian

Joanne Smyth
Reference Librarian
jsmyth@unb.ca@unb.ca | 506-453-3516
My office is in HIL, Room 316B
Subject Specialties: History; Political Science; Religious Studies; Catholic Theology; Renaissance College; Human Rights, GRID

  • Last modified:  Apr 04, 2014 17:11:08 | Edit Guide