UNB Libraries' Guide to Nursing

Note: In order to optimize functionality, most links will open in a new browser window.

Ask a Librarian


~ To properly access the contents of this page and the linked resources, please enable JavaScript. ~

Find Articles

To look up a journal article when you know when and where it was published, start by entering the name of the journal (not the article title) in the Journals and Newspapers search box at the UNB Libraries home page. For detailed instructions, watch this short (about 3 minutes) video.

When searching for journal articles on a topic when you don't have any specific articles in mind, an article and research database is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended article and research databases for Nursing. 

CINAHL is the most comprehensive article database for Nursing. A CINAHL User Guide is available for download in pdf format. The guide is 17 pages long and contains plenty of screen shots and tips for getting the most out of your CINAHL searches.

Key Resources

  • CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) info
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition info
  • Medline (1950 to Present) info
  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source info
  • PsycINFO info
  • PubMed info
  • Sociological Abstracts info
  • SocINDEX with Full Text info

Additional Resources

  • Cochrane Library (Wiley) info
  • Dissertations & Theses (PQDT: formerly Digital Dissertations) info
  • Google Scholar info
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI : EBSCO) info
  • HealthStar info
  • Joanna Briggs Institute (ProQuest) info
  • Scopus info
  • Web of Science info

Reference Sources

These are selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Nursing. To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database. To hear the pronunciation of medical terms, try the Merriam-Webster online medical dictionary. Choose Medical Reference at the online search box.

 

Key Resources

  • Churchill Livingstone's dictionary of nursing info
  • CultureVision info
  • Diseases: A Nursing Process Approach to Excellent Care info
  • e-CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) info
  • Encyclopedia of Nursing Research info
  • Handbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing info
  • Handbook of Pathophysiology info
  • Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice info
  • Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide info
  • Natural Standard info
  • Nurses' Guide to Clinical Procedures info

Additional Resources

  • Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th Edition info
  • Black's Medical Dictionary info
  • Dictionary of nursing, A info
  • Encyclopedia of Mental Health [HIL-REF RC437 .K34 2008] info
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health [HIL-REF RT21 .G353 2002 vols. 1-5] info
  • Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The info
  • Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions info
  • Nursing Care Plans and Documentation info
  • Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary info
  • Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests info

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries use UNB WorldCat or Quest. UNB WorldCat contains books (including e-books), videos, and other material held by UNB libraries as well as material held by other libraries around the world. Some journal articles are also searchable in UNB WorldCat.

The Quest catalogue contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Ward Chipman Library in Saint John. 

 Course reserves are also available via Quest's Reserve Desk.

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.

Government departments and agencies publish a great deal of important health and social science information in book, serial, and/or electronic formats. UNB's Government Documents, Data and Maps department on the third floor of the Harriet Irving Library is responsible for acquiring and organizing this information, as well as for providing support in the use of Statistics Canada data.


On the UNB Fredericton Campus, most books on Nursing, Medicine, and the Social Sciences are in the Harriet Irving Library. To browse the library shelves for books of interest, try the following ranges:

RA 421-790.85 Public Health, Hygiene, Preventive Medicine
RJ 1-150 Pediatrics
RT 1-120 Nursing
BF 176 Psychological Tests and Testing

Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. Below are some recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources. Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Nursing is APA (American Psychological Association).

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic database manager, available through UNB Libraries, that allows you to create a database of references that can be organized, searched, and used to automatically construct bibliographies and reading lists in many citation styles.


 
  • Last modified:  Jan 16, 2012 10:12:54 | Edit Guide