UNB Libraries' Guide to Women's Studies

Note: In order to optimize functionality, most links will open in a new browser window.

Ask a Librarian


~ To properly access the contents of this page and the linked resources, please enable JavaScript. ~

Find Articles

When searching for journal articles, an indexing and abstracting database or print index is usually the best place to begin. Below are some recommended indexes and databases for research in Women's Studies. For other databases, check the Indexes and Abstracts page of the library website.

Key Resources

  • Women's Studies International info
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO) info
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) info
  • Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) info
  • PsycINFO info
  • Social Services Abstracts info
  • Sociological Abstracts info
  • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International and Archive info

Reference Sources

When researching a new topic it is often necessary to get an overview, explanations of unfamiliar terms, or brief factual information. The print and electronic resources listed below include selected reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopaedias, handbooks, guides, and standards) for the field of Women's Studies. To find additional reference materials, check Quest (the library catalogue) or our Reference Materials database.

Key Resources

  • Encyclopedia of sex and gender men and women in the world's cultures info
  • Encyclopedia of gender and society [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 vols. 1-2]
  • Penguin biographical dictionary of women, The info
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, The info
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex and Similarities and Differences and the Impact on Society
    see also [HIL-REF HQ1115 .E43 2001 vols. 1-2] info
  • Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia [HIL-REF HQ1115 .W6 1999 vols. 1-17] info
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide, The [HIL-REF HQ1115 .G74 2003 vols. 1-4]
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Basic Edition) info
  • Historical Dictionary of Feminist Philosophy [HIL-REF HQ1190 .G36 2006 ]
  • Handbook of Feminist Research : Theory and Praxis [HIL-REF HQ1180 .H35 2007]
  • Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies [HIL-REF HQ1180 .H355 2006]
  • Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
    see also [HIL-REF HQ1190 .E63 2000] info

Additional Resources

  • Glossary of Feminist Theory, A [HIL-REF HQ1190 .A53 2000] info
  • Sourcebook on Violence Against Women, The [HIL-REF HV6250.4 .W65 S68 2001] info
  • Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
    see also [HIL-REF HQ1236 .R29 2001 vols. 1-2] info

Find Books

To search for books at UNB Libraries, first use one of the library's two online catalogues, UNBWorldCat or Quest. Each contains materials held at the Harriet Irving, Science and Forestry, Engineering, and Law libraries, as well as the Ward Chipman Library in Saint John. UNB WorldCat additionally contains access to a selective number of indexing and abstracting serviced and full-text journals. Course reserves are available via Quest's Reserve Desk.

 

Books and other materials not available at UNB may be available for loan from another institution through our document delivery service. To search for materials not held by UNB Libraries, try World Cat or select from our list of other library catalogues. See the document delivery page for electronic request forms and more details.


Find Internet Sites

While there is a wealth of information freely available on the internet, not all sites are created equal. Careful evaluation is a critical part of doing research on the Internet. See the Using the Web module of UNB LILT (Library Information Literacy Tutorial) for more details. Below are some recommended sites:

Citing Your Sources

Accurate, properly formatted footnotes, reading lists, and bibliographies are hallmarks of good academic research. Through citing, you acknowledge the source of any ideas you mention in your writing, document your research, and provide the information your readers need to track down your sources.

Numerous citation styles exist, and each specifies what elements are required (title, author, journal name, etc.) and how the citation should be formatted. The standard citation style for Women's Studies is APA, but your instructor may require or recommend that you use another. Consult your course syllabus or check with your instructor to be sure of using the correct citation style for your assignment.

For research tips and more information on citing your sources, see the Citing Sources module of UNB LILT (Library Information Literacy Tutorial)

 
  • Last modified:  Mar 14, 2012 12:42:37 | Edit Guide